Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and, additionally, reviewed by a panel experts in the field and are normally found in academic journals. They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references.
Example of a Journal with Scholarly Articles
Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field. Popular articles rarely include references.
Example of a Magazine with Popular Articles
For more detailed information on what a scholarly article looks like, see the excellent tutorial Anatomy of a Scholarly Article.
Scholarly articles are often very difficult to read! Here are strategies to help:
Cite your source using a format such as APA (American Psychological Association), CSE (Council of Science Editors) or your professor’s recommendation!
EasyBib - The Automatic Bibliography and Citation Maker for APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian.
APA Citation Style (Diana Hacker)
Ask a librarian for help!
The following databases listed below are reference databases and great for finding background information on health and science topics:
Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Databases are collections of online articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. When using the databases from off campus you will need to log-in using your Library Card Number and PIN (the last 4 digits of your phone number).
See the full list of Cañada College Databases
Here are a list of databases that will be helpful for finding information on Kinesiology topics:
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information on many health topics with a strong focus on nursing and allied health articles. This database includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and trade publication articles.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
ProQuest Natural Science Collection is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. It includes nearly 1,000 science journals, many peer-reviewed, in the areas of Physics, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science and Chemistry. This database includes academic journal articles, professional (trade) articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, images including charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos.