Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Articles: Databases
Library Article Databases are collections of articles from magazines, academic/scholarly journals, newspapers, e-books and more.
The most efficient way to find a full text article is to use an article database.
Article databases include articles from a variety of journals and magazines. Type in a few keywords to see what kinds of articles you find.
Working from off campus? Enter your library card number (on the back of your library card) and PIN number (the last four numbers of your phone number) to access these databases.
Stop by the Library reference desk or call (306-3267) if you have any trouble!
Tip #1: When searching for articles in a database, choose keywords instead of typing in a sentence or question.
Tip #2: When developing keywords, identify main ideas, synonyms, and broader, narrower, or related terms.
Online Research: Tips for Effective (Search) Strategies: This three minute video describes three important search tips that will save you precious time.
Recommended Database: Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
Recommended Database: ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, covers all aspects of research about education, including journal articles, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. In this database you will find academic journal articles, primary research articles, magazine articles, images like photographs, charts and graphs.
Additional Databases for Early Childhood Education
Try these additional databases, too: