Articles - ECE 210 Child Development - Hall - LibGuides at Cañada College

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.

Educator's Reference Complete

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete is a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education and every educational specialty, such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, and provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

ERIC

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, covers all aspects of research about education, including journal articles, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers. Many of these are available full text, but not everything, however.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. In this database you will find academic journal articles, primary research articles, magazine articles, and images (photographs, charts, and graphs).
Because this material covers people at all ages, your searches will be more successful if you use Advance Search Mode and put terms for the age group you're researching in one search box, linking it to topic terms with AND.

Online ECE Journals

Early Childhood Research and Practice
Early Childhood Research and Practice is a bilingual online scholarly journal on the development, care, and education of young children. You can browse recent issues to see what's hot in the field of Early Childhood Education!

Finding Articles - Searching Databases

First step: Choosing where to look

RECOMMENDED : one of the Cañada College Library databases on the left of this page.

Second Step: Choosing Search Terms

RECOMMENDED : Use the language of education professionals. You will find a list of names / terms for theories of child development or for approaches to early childhood education in the box below.

Type your search term in the Basic Search box.

IF THAT STRATEGY DOESN'T FIND WHAT YOU NEED --

Third Step: Use Advance Search to combine search terms

Using Advance Search Mode,

In the first search box type:

terms for the age group you're interested in, connecting each separate term with OR

Make sure that the boxes are connected with AND

In the second search box, type:

terms associated with the theory or concept you're interested in, connecting each separate term with OR

If you want to focus your search even more, use the third search box for narrowing term(s), as in the example below that looks for articles that discuss Piaget's ideas of how play functions for preschool-aged kids.

Fourth Step (all strategies): Making sure you can get the full text of the article.

In the Limits section, check the fox for Full text, like this:

Fifth Step (all strategies): Selecting the articles that look useful, and capturing them.

Save the items that look promising by putting them into a Folder; then Email the saved items to yourself. Be sure to choose to display the citations in APA format.

ECE 210 Child Development - Hall: Articles