The Skyline Library offers streaming media resources through our digital subscription materials collection: Films On Demand, Academic Video Online/Alexander Street, and Kanopy (limited collection). These are available to employees and students via OneLogin and are embeddable in Canvas LMS using the More External Tools feature.
The Skyline Library recognizes that there are may media resources that are free-to-access online. While we can not vouch for the consistency, legality, or privacy of any external site, we do recognize the interest and need for media access. We strongly recommend reviewing a site's use terms before accessing any copyright material. To learn more about using copyrighted material in your online course, visit our Use of Copyrighted Content in Online Teaching page or the Distance Education Handbook (forthcoming).
The Cañada College Library currently subscribes to the following streaming media databases. Access is available to all Cañada College employees and students through OneLogin (same credentials as Canvas and Outlook).
Cañada Library offers access to a limited number of course specific streaming film titles such as Black Panther, Freedom Writers, and Get Out.
Films on Demand is an online library of streaming educational videos, documentaries, and news videos covering a wide range of educational topics. These videos cover various subjects including, Anthropology, Nursing, History, Languages, etc. Videos include closed captioning and transcripts. Links to individual film titles and segments can be shared via Canvas, email or your personal website.
Kanopy is a streaming film database that includes movies and documentaries in a wide range of categories, including the Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, A24 Collection, short films, early film, independent film, Spanish language cinema, world cinema, and more.